Posted on

Happy Release Day: Cornelius Claudio Kreusch – Eye of the storm

The great writer Gertrude Stein once said: “Jazz is tenderness and powerful violence.” A definition that has shaped the pianist Cornelius Claudio Kreusch already at the beginning of his career – and which now again perfectly applies to his new album “Eye of the Storm”. Whereby improvisation as the primal ground of these strong forms of expression is absolutely part of it.

And yet “Eye of the Storm” is now something completely different, something new. Not only because, in contrast to the often well-prepared confrontation with freedom in the past, it really was a spontaneous leap into the deep end. But above all because “for the first time I had the feeling of being an adult as an artist,” as Kreusch tells us. “Until now, the great predecessors and role models were always a source of inspiration. This time I was completely with myself from the first note.

A maturity and independence that you can hear on the album. Everything is an expression of the dazzling personality of Cornelius Claudio Kreusch, who is as extroverted and spiritual as he is grounded and consistent. As wild as it can get with the musical storm of thoughts, an almost classical undertone, immersed in inner listening, is dominant. And as much as every note, every chord, every change, every touch is unmistakably Kreusch, at the same time he succeeds in giving each improvisation part its own note.

More infos: https://www.glm.de/en/product/cornelius-claudio-kreusch-eye-of-the-storm/

Listen to the music: https://glmmusic.de/EyeoftheStormWE

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Geschrieben am

Happy Release Day: Cornelius Claudio Kreusch – Eye of the storm

Die große Schriftstellerin Gertrude Stein hat einmal gesagt: „Jazz ist Zärtlichkeit und mächtige Gewalt.” Eine Definition, die den Pianisten Cornelius Claudio Kreusch schon zu Beginn seiner Karriere geprägt hat – und die jetzt auch wieder perfekt auf sein neues Album „Eye of the Storm“ zutrifft. Wobei die Improvisation als Urgrund dieser starken Ausdrucksformen unbedingt dazu gehört.

Und doch ist „Eye of the Storm“ jetzt etwas ganz Anderes, Neues. Nicht nur, weil es in Gegensatz zur früher oft wohlvorbereiteten Konfrontation mit der Freiheit wirklich ein spontaner Sprung ins kalte Wasser war. Sondern vor allem, weil „ich das erste Mal das Gefühl hatte, als Künstler erwachsen zu sein,“ wie Kreusch erzählt. „Bisher waren die großen Vorgänger und Vorbilder stets eine Inspirationsquelle. Diesmal war ich vom ersten Ton an ganz bei mir.“

Eine Reife und Eigenständigkeit, die man dem Album anhört. Alles ist Ausdruck der schillernden Persönlichkeit des ebenso extrovertierten und spirituellen wie andererseits geerdeten und konsequenten Cornelius Claudio Kreusch. So wild es beim musikalischen Gedankensturm werden kann, so dominant ist doch ein fast klassischer, ins innere Lauschen vertiefter Unterton. Und so sehr jede Note, jeder Akkord, jeder Change, jeder Anschlag unverkennbar Kreusch ist, so sehr gelingt es ihm gleichzeitig, jedem Improvisationsteil eine eigene Note zu geben.

Mehr Infos: https://www.glm.de/produkt/cornelius-claudio-kreusch-eye-of-the-storm/

Zur Musik: https://glmmusic.de/EyeoftheStormWE