Posted on

Happy Release Day: Transformer – Cornelius Claudio Kreusch

Jazz pianist Cornelius Claudio Kreusch had a “vision” early on with one of his albums. With his “Black Mud Sound” he created a world music emulsion earlier than most, landed a funky “Scoop” soon after and also turned to the Afro-Caribbean sound cosmos with “Féfé” and “Sun Music”. With “Life Is Beautiful”, he even ventured into pop, and with “Two Worlds One” and “Gestalt!“, he also combined classical music and free improvisation into an overarching concept. Most recently, he let himself be carried musically by Thomas Mann’s novel of the same name, but also by his own relevant experiences, in large-scale improvisations on the “Magic Mountain“. But the process behind all these so different projects now gives his new album its title: “Transformer.”

“The artist, in his best moments, is an engineer of transformation. He brings the idea into the world as a creative construct.  The jazz pianist is an improviser and thus the transformer of the moment. Familiar or new melodies are scooped into a new in the moment.”  This is how Kreusch describes the basic idea that guided him in this album. It is also a concentration, born of this time of forced pause, on the core of his artistic self-image: on the solo pianist Cornelius Claudio Kreusch.

For the pianist, who was first trained by his mother, concert pianist and music educator Dorothée Kreusch-Jacob, and then at the legendary Berklee College of Music in Boston and the Manhattan School of Music, is one of the most creative jazzmen on the planet, thanks to his extroverted nature, always bursting with energetic ideas.

With “Transformer” Kreusch follows up on earlier albums such as the hit album “Live! At Steinway Hall/New York“, to “Dolomites” and “Heart & Soul” and thus to his strengths as a soloist with a solitary signature.

More infos: https://www.glm.de/en/artists/cornelius-claudio-kreusch/

Listen to the music: https://glmmusic.de/TransformerWE 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Geschrieben am

Happy Release Day: Transformer – Cornelius Claudio Kreusch

Eine „Vision“ hatte der Jazzpianist Cornelius Claudio Kreusch früh mit einem seiner Alben. Mit seinem „Black Mud Sound“ schöpfte er früher als die meisten eine weltmusikalische Emulsion, landete bald darauf einen funkigen „Scoop“ und wandte sich mit „Féfé“ und „Sun Music“ auch dem afrokaribischen Klangkosmos zu. Mit „Life Is Beautiful“ wagte er sogar einen Ausflug in den Pop, mit „Two Worlds One“ und „Gestalt!“ bannte er auch Klassisches und freie Improvisation in ein übergreifendes Konzept. Zuletzt ließ er sich von Thomas Manns gleichnamigen Roman, aber auch einschlägigen eigenen Erfahrungen musikalisch in groß angelegten Improvisationen auf den „Zauberberg“ tragen. Der Prozess aber, der hinter all diesen so unterschiedlichen Projekten steht, verleiht nun seinem neuen Album den Titel: „Transformer“.

„Der Künstler ist in seinen besten Momenten ein Ingenieur der Transformation. Er bringt die Idee als kreatives Konstrukt in die Welt.  Der Jazzpianist ist Improvisator und damit der Transformator des Augenblicks. Bekannte oder neue Melodien werden im Moment zu einem Neuen geschöpft.“  So beschreibt Kreusch den Grundgedanken, der ihn bei diesem Album leitete. Es ist auch eine aus dieser Zeit des erzwungenen Innehaltens geborene Konzentration auf den Kern seines künstlerischen Selbstverständnisses: auf den Solo-Pianisten Cornelius Claudio Kreusch.

Denn der erst von seiner Mutter, der Konzertpianistin und Musikpädagogin Dorothée Kreusch-Jacob, und dann am legendären Berklee College of Music in Boston und der Manhattan School of Music ausgebildete Pianist gehört dank seiner extrovertierten, immer vor energetischen Ideen sprühenden Natur zu den kreativsten Jazzern des Planeten.

Mit „Transformer“ knüpft Kreusch an frühere Alben wie das Erfolgsalbum „Live! At Steinway Hall/New York“, an „Dolomites“ und „Heart & Soul“ und damit an seine Stärken als Solist mit solitärer Signatur an.

Mehr Infos: https://www.glm.de/produkt/cornelius-claudio-kreusch-transformer/

Zur Musik: https://glmmusic.de/TransformerWE